The next Shire of Gnowangerup elections will take place on Saturday the, 16 October 2021

Election of Councillors is held every two (2) years in October and the Ordinary Term of the Office is four (4) years. 
The Postal Election Timeline can be found here.

WA Electoral Commission

The WA Electoral Commission (WAEC) is responsible for the conduct in Western Australia of:
  • State Elections & Referenda
  • Local Government Postal Elections & Referenda
  • Industrial and Other Elections & Referenda
The Western Australian Electoral Commission also maintains the Electoral Roll for use in State and Local Government Elections.
Further information inclusive of forms and publications are available at the Western Australian Electoral Commission website and information and FAQ’s on the Department of Local Government and Communities website.


Voting Method

All postal elections are managed by the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC), which appoints a Returning Officer for each election.

Do I need to vote?

While voting for Local Government Elections is not compulsory the Shire of Gnowangerup encourages all eligible Electors to take part.

Who can vote?

Residents who are on the Federal/State Roll for a property within the Shire of Gnowangerup electorate are automatically enrolled for a Council election.
All other land owners registered on the Federal/State roll but who reside out of the Gnowangerup Shire need to register by completing an enrolment eligibility application form (Form 2).
If you are not a land owner in Gnowangerup, but reside in the Shire and are not registered on the Federal/State Roll you will need to complete an application to register a nominee for co owners or co-occupiers form (Form 2B).
If your property is registered in a company name and you need to register a nominee for that company, please contact the Administration Office for more details.

Close of Enrolment Notice


Nominations for the vacancies of 5 Councillors open on Thursday 2nd September 2021 and close at 4:00pm on Thursday 9th September 2021.

A Candidate’s Information Briefing Webinar was held on Wednesday 18th August 2021. Please find the presentation HERE and on YouTube.
Nominations open on Thursday 2 September 2021 and close at 4.00pm on Thursday 9 September 2021. Nomination is by appointment only. 
Prior to nomination, candidates will need to complete the mandatory online candidate induction on the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries website (Induction for candidates). On completion, don't forget to record your unique identifier code as this will need to be provided when you nominate.
For more information, please find more information here and here or visit the WA Electoral Commission website https://www.elections.wa.gov.au/elections/local

Candidates Profiles