Our Council

Back Row (left to right)Cr Richard House, Cr Greg Stewart, Cr Frank Hmeljak, Cr Ben Moore, Cr Shelley Hmeljak  Front Row (left to right): Cr Fiona Gaze (Deputy President), Cr Lex Martin, Shelley Pike (CEO), Cr Keith House (President), Cr Chris Thomas. 


The Shire of Gnowangerup is a corporate body consisting of nine elected Councillors. The Council members elect the Shire President and the Deputy Shire President every two years.

Elections were normally held biennially on the first Saturday in May. From 2007, all Local Government elections will be held biennially on the third Saturday in October. These elections are subject to electoral procedures as governed by the Local Government Act 1995. These elections are not compulsory and are conducted in person if required.

Council Meetings are held monthly and are open to the public. Agendas and Minutes of the meetings are available under the 'Our Council' tab or by clicking here Agendas or Minutes. An Annual Meeting of Electors is held each financial year. A notice regarding this meeting is published in the local papers.