

MINUTES

SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL (ELECTION MINUTES)

27th OCTOBER 2021 Commencing at 1:30pm

Council Chambers 28 Yougenup Road, Gnowangerup WA 6335

COUNCIL'S VISION

Gnowangerup Shire – A thriving, inclusive and growing community built on opportunity

Shire of Gnowangerup

NOTICE OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

Dear Council Member

A Special Meeting of the Shire of Gnowangerup will be held on Wednesday 27th October 2021, at the Council Chambers 28 Yougenup Road Gnowangerup, commencing at 1:30pm.

Signed:

Robert Jarvis

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Meaning of and CAUTION concerning Council's "In Principle" support:

When Council uses this expression it means that:

(a) Council is generally in favour of the proposal BUT is not yet willing to give its consent; and (b) Importantly, Council reserves the right to (and may well) either decide against the proposal or to formally support it but with restrictive conditions or modifications.

Therefore, whilst you can take some comfort from Council's "support" you are clearly at risk if you act upon it <u>before</u> Council makes its actual (and binding) decision and communicates that to you in writing.



DISCLAIMER

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Gnowangerup for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

The Shire of Gnowangerup disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without detracting in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a licence, any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Shire of Gnowangerup during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Gnowangerup.

The Shire of Gnowangerup advises that anyone who has any application lodged with the Shire of Gnowangerup shall obtain and should only rely on **written confirmation** of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Shire of Gnowangerup in respect of the application.

These minutes are not a verbatim record but include the contents pursuant to Regulation 11 of Local Government (Administration) Regulations 1996.

Signed:

Robert Jarvis

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.	OPENING AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS 1				
	ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE				
		ATTENDANCE			
		APOLOGIES			
		APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE			
3.	TAKING OF OATH AND DECLARATION OF OFFICE				
		FION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT			
		ARATION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT			
		FION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT			
	DECLARATION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT				
		ING ARRANGEMENT FOR COUNCIL CHAMBERS (COUNCILLORS)			
		URE OF MEETING	3		

1. OPENING AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

Chief Executive Officer, Bob Jarvis welcomed Councillors, staff and visitors and opens the meeting at 1:35pm.

2. ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

2.1 ATTENDANCE

Fiona Gaze

Shelley Hmeljak

Kate O'Keeffe

Mick Creagh

Greg Stewart

Rebecca O'Meehan

Rebecca Kiddle

Peter Callaghan

Lex Martin

Bob Jarvis Chief Executive Officer

lan Graham Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Geoff Carberry Asset and Waste Management Coordinator

Yvette Wheatcroft Manager of Works
Anita Finn Executive Assistant

Keith House JP

Member of the Public

Tim O'Meehan

2.2 APOLOGIES

Nil

2.3 APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

3. TAKING OF OATH AND DECLARATION OF OFFICE

Five of the newly Elected Councillors took the Declaration of Office administered by Mr Keith House JP.

- Rebecca Anne O'Meehan
- Rebecca Anne Kiddle
- Peter Gerard Callaghan
- Gregory Bruce Stewart
- Alexander Edgar Martin

4. ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Election of Shire President was conducted by the Chief Executive Officer.

Nominations for the office were to be given to the CEO in writing before the meeting or during the meeting before the close of nominations.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that he had received <u>one</u> written nomination for Fiona Gaze for the position of Shire President.

The Chief Executive Officer then called for any other nominations. None were received.

As only Cr Fiona Gaze was nominated, the Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Fiona Gaze as the Shire President for the Shire of Gnowangerup, elected unopposed

5. DECLARATION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Shire President Fiona Gaze undertook the Declaration of Office administered by Mr Keith House JP.

The Shire President took over as presiding member of the meeting.

6. ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Election of Deputy Shire President was conducted by the Shire President.

Nominations for the office were to be given to the person conducting the election in writing before the meeting or during the meeting before the close of nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that he had received <u>one</u> written nomination for Cr Greg Stewart for the position of Deputy Shire President.

As only Cr Greg Stewart was nominated, the Shire President declared Cr Greg Stewart as The Deputy Shire President for the Shire of Gnowangerup, elected unopposed

7. DECLARATION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Deputy Shire President Greg Stewart undertook the Declaration of Office Administered by Mr Keith House JP.

8. SEATING ARRANGEMENT FOR COUNCIL CHAMBERS (COUNCILLORS)

The Shire President conducted the seating arrangement in the council chambers. The Shire President and Deputy Shire President seats remained as custom.

	CEO	SHIRE PRESIDENT	DEPUTY SHIRE
		Fiona Gaze	PRESIDENT
	Bob Jarvis		Ian Graham
CR			CR
Shelley Hmeljak			Greg Stewart
CR			CR
Mick Creagh			Kate O'Keeffe
CR			CR
Rebecca Kiddle			Peter Callaghan
CR			CR
Lex Martin			Rebecca O'Meehan
STAFF			STAFF
STAFF			STAFF

9. CLOSURE

The Shire President thanked Council, staff and visitors for their time and declared the meeting closed at 1:48pm.