

SHIRE OF GNOWANGERUP

BORDEN GNOWANGERUP ONGERUP

MINUTES

SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL (ELECTION MINUTES)

25 October 2023
Commencing at 1:00pm

Council Chambers
Yougenup Road, Gnowangerup WA 6335

COUNCIL'S VISION

Gnowangerup Shire – A progressive, inclusive and prosperous community built on opportunity

Shire of Gnowangerup

NOTICE OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

Dear Council Member

A Special Council Meeting of the Shire of Gnowangerup will be held on Wednesday 25th October 2023, at the Council Chambers 28 Yougenup Road Gnowangerup, commencing at 1:00pm.

Signed:

David Nicholson
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Meaning of and CAUTION concerning Council's "In Principle" support:

When Council uses this expression it means that:

(a) Council is generally in favour of the proposal BUT is not yet willing to give its consent; and (b) Importantly, Council reserves the right to (and may well) either decide <u>against</u> the proposal or to formally support it but with restrictive conditions or modifications.

Therefore, whilst you can take some comfort from Council's "support" you are clearly at risk if you act upon it <u>before</u> Council makes its actual (and binding) decision and communicates that to you in writing.



DISCLAIMER

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Gnowangerup for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

The Shire of Gnowangerup disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or committee meetings.

Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without detracting in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a licence, any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Shire of Gnowangerup during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Gnowangerup.

The Shire of Gnowangerup advises that anyone who has any application lodged with the Shire of Gnowangerup shall obtain and should only rely on **written confirmation** of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Shire of Gnowangerup in respect of the application.

These minutes are not a verbatim record but include the contents pursuant to Regulation 11 of Local Government (Administration) Regulations 1996.

Signed:

David Nicholson

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.	. OPENING AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS			
	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY			
	ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE			
	3.1. ATTENDANCE	1		
	3.2. APOLOGIES			
	3.3. APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE			
4.	TAKING OF OATH AND DECLARATION OF OFFICE			
	ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT			
6.	DECLARATION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT	2		
	ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT			
	DECLARATION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT			
	SEATING ARRANGEMENT FOR COUNCIL CHAMBERS (COUNCILLORS)			
	CLOSURE OF MEETING			

1. OPENING AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

Chief Executive Officer David Nicholson welcomed Councillors, the Justice of Peace Bill Tiller and staff and opened the meeting at 1:00pm.

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Shire of Gnowangerup would like to acknowledge the Goreng people who are the Traditional Custodians of this land. The Shire of Gnowangerup would also like to pay respect to the Elders both past and present of the Noongar Nation and extend that respect to other Aboriginals present.

3. ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

3.1 ATTENDANCE

Elected Members: Greg Stewart JP

Rebecca O'Meehan Rebecca Kiddle Peter Callaghan Lex Martin

Kate O'Keeffe JP Mick Creagh

David Nicholson Chief Executive Officer

Chiara Galbraith Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Barry Gibbs Acting Executive Manager of Infrastructure and

Waste

Llew Withers Environmental Health Officer

Bobbie Van Rensburg Executive Assistant

Anita Finn Senior Governance and Risk Management

Officer

Sarah Henning Community Development Officer

Bill Tiller JP

3.2 APOLOGIES

Cr Elect Robbie Miniter OAM

3.3 APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

Gnowangerup Shire - A progressive, inclusive and prosperous community built on opportunity

4. TAKING OF OATH AND DECLARATION OF OFFICE

Two of the newly Elected Councillors took the Declaration of Office administered by Mr Bill Tiller JP.

- Kate O'Keeffe JP
- Mick Creagh

David Nicholson congratulated the returning Councillors on their successful election.

5. ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The election of Shire President was conducted by the Chief Executive Officer.

Chief Executive Officer David Nicholson advised that he had received one written nomination for Cr Kate O'Keeffe JP and one written nomination for Cr Greg Stewart JP for the position of Shire President prior to the meeting.

Chief Executive Officer David Nicholson informed the Councillors that Cr Greg Stewart JP has since withdrawn his nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer then called for any other nominations. No further nominations were received.

Cr Kate O'Keeffe accepted her nomination when asked by Chief Executive Officer David Nicholson.

As only Cr Kate O'Keeffe JP was nominated, Chief Executive Officer David Nicholson declared Cr Kate O'Keefe JP duly elected as Shire President for the Shire of Gnowangerup, term expiry October 2025.

6. DECLARATION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP undertook the Declaration of Office administered by Bill Tiller JP.

The Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP took over as presiding member of the meeting.

7. ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Election of Deputy Shire President was conducted by Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP.

Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP advised that two written nominations had been received for the position of Deputy Shire President, the first being for Cr Rebecca O'Meehan and the second for herself. As Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP had accepted the position of Shire President she withdrew her nomination as Deputy Shire President.

Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP then called for any other nominations. No further nominations were received.

Cr Rebecca O'Meehan accepted her nomination when asked by the Shire President.

As only Cr Rebecca O'Meehan was nominated, Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP declared Cr Rebecca O'Meehan duly elected as Deputy Shire President for the Shire of Gnowangerup, term expiry October 2025.

8. DECLARATION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Deputy Shire President Rebecca O'Meehan undertook the Declaration of Office administered by Bill Tiller JP.

9. SEATING ARRANGEMENT FOR COUNCIL CHAMBERS (COUNCILLORS)

The Shire President conducted the seating arrangement in the council chambers. The Shire President seat remained as custom.

Deputy Chief Executive Officer	Shire President	Chief Executive Officer	Executive Assistant
Chiara Galbraith	Kate O'Keeffe	David Nicholson	Bobbie Van Rensburg
Executive Manager of			Senior Governance & Risk
Infrastructure & Assets			Management Officer
ТВА			Anita Finn
			Deputy Shire President
Cr Peter Callaghan			Cr Rebecca O'Meehan
Cr Rebecca Kiddle			Cr Greg Stewart JP
Cr Mick Creagh			Cr Robert Miniter OAM
			STAFF
Cr Lex Martin			
STAFF			STAFF

Shire President Kate O'Keeffe JP paid tribute to the outgoing Shire President Fiona Gaze and Councillor Shelley Hmeljak and welcomed the new team. She also thanked Councillor Greg Stewart JP for his contribution during his term as previous Deputy Shire President.

10. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Shire President thanked Council, Bill Tiller JP and staff for their time and declared the meeting closed at 1:15 pm.